August 17th Official Fight Predictions

Dec-Daniel Geale

Well guys I have been going back and forth with this weekends fights for the past few days. While I think both fights will be closely contested, I have made my picks. In the Geale vs Barker fight, look for Daniel Geale to win a close decision victory, neither guy has much of a chance to stop the other. I think the fight will be close, but Geale has an extra gear that I just don’t think that Barker has. I would expect to see scores around 115-113 or 116-112 for Geale.

In the Nathan Cleverly vs Sergey Kovalev bout, I am picking Kovalev to get the stoppage victory. I see the fight going about 7-10 rounds or so, possibly Cleverly ahead, but Kovalev getting the stoppage. I don’t see Cleverly having the ability to stay away from Kovalev’s power for 12 rounds. Nathan likes to fight toe to toe too much and that will be his downfall in this fight. I also think he and his team may be underestimating Kovalev’s technique which is underrated.

Both fights have decent odds on them. So correct picks this weekend will pay quite nicely. Neither fight is a sure thing, but the odds this weekend make these fights good ones to bet on. On sportsbet.com.au Daniel Geale is paying 2.1 by decision, and Kovalev is paying 2.38 by KO. Good lucks guys!

Leave a Reply

